MY Curse.

I know things.  I know things.  Don’t ask me how.  Sure, I could tell you how I know things; my methods are incredibly varied, but it would take too long to explain, and you would be hard pushed to care anyway.   So, just know that I do, and we’ll leave it at that.

The problem is that, no matter how much I know, what I can advise you on, or how I AM ALWAYS FUCKING RIGHT when it comes to these things, people never listen to me (well, let me amend that to ‘people rarely listen to me’)  It has happened from the time I was able to talk and form semi-coherent thoughts.

Time and time again I have given my observations, my suggestions, my advice, and my perspectives to various people on various topics, and I have known that what I have said is accurate, true, and utterly relevant.  I would not say anything on the given topic, otherwise, or would state that I was unable to assist, if that were the case.  I can see the outcomes and the best course of action as easily as I can see the monitor that I am looking at while I type this.  Yet, time and time again, I am invariably ignored. And, time and time again, these observations of mine have proved to be dead on!  It has happened too many times now to be a coincidence, or a lucky guess on my part.

The reasons why people choose not to listen to me are as varied as they are, but there seems to be a common theme that runs through each and every situation.  For whatever reason, I do not appear to be ‘qualified’ enough for people to bother listening to.

“She is not a Counsellor, so how the Hell could she possibly know that my relationship is doomed unless I do XYZ?  Or that my relationship is doomed no matter what I do?”  But I do.  Oh yes.  I do! And many, many people have come to discover that, in spite of the lack of the university degree required to be such a counsellor, I know. Yes; my observations are always right.  No one listens and, inevitably, things turn out exactly the way that I knew they would if my observations were ignored.

“Oh, but she does not have a Harvard Business Degree! How could she possibly know what I should do?  Who is she to tell me that, if I do XY or Z, it will make a difference?”  True.  I do not have a Harvard Business Degree.  Does it mean that I don’t know what to advise?  That I don’t know what I am talking about?  That I am not qualified to state that X Y AND Z will happen in any given instance?  That I am not able to see, quite clearly what will happen, what is happening, what has happened, and why it has happened?  No.  I know. I just do; business degree or not!

From something as trivial as whether a particular colour will look good on a person, right through to the intricacies of relationships, and out the other side to Corporate Politics, I have an ability to know; to see things,  somehow.

I am not telling you all that I am a ‘know it all’.  There are plenty of things that I do not know.  I am talking about situations in which I do know what I am talking about, for whatever reason.

Now, I may couch what I say to you in delicate terms.  I may gently suggest a particular course of action, or I may ‘just put it out there for your consideration’ but, make no mistake.  Behind the way I say something to you is a mind that knows.  In reality, I am not suggesting a thing!  I am telling you in no uncertain terms what will happen, what is happening, and what to do about it.

But, I have come to the conclusion that the vast majority of people on this planet are nothing but self-serving asshats who will discredit a person’s perspective, particularly if it is something that they do not want to hear!  You don’t want to hear that your relationship is in trouble?  You want me to tell you that it is all going to be ok?  Sure.  I will do so, if that is the case. If not?  I will tell you why it is not the case, and what you can do to fix it.  Ahh, but you just wanted someone to tell you that it is all ok, didn’t you? Go surround yourself with ‘Yes people’ then, and leave me the fuck alone!!!

So, why do I do this?  Why do I go out of my way to assist people who do not bother listening to me after they have sought out my advice in the first place?

Why do I see these things, speak the outcome and, like the Cassandra of Greek mythology, end up being ignored?

Because I care too much.

My curse is not Cassandra’s, in spite of appearances.  It could  easily be mistaken for such, though!

No, my curse is that I care too much.  And, I know that, if only I could stop caring, I would no longer suffer the frustration I endure each and every time my words go unheeded.

Problem is?  Problem is that I also know that I cannot stop doing that.

That is my curse.

I told you so.

Leave a comment

Filed under Rants; or 'That Which Pisses Me Off Mightily'!

Leave a Reply

