Remembrance Day.

I come from a Military family. Members of my family have fought in each and every war of both the last century and this one.  I am blessed to call many Veterans not only family, but also friends.

No matter what your beliefs about war the truth is that, like it or not, wars are fought.  And, like it or not, someone has to fight them.

It takes a special kind of person to choose to do a job that many simply cannot, or will not, do.  And I am thinking of those special people today.  I think of them every day, if I am honest.  Remembrance Day, for this individual, happens every day.  But today? Today is the official day of Remembrance and you can guarantee that, come 11:00 am, I will be standing in that moment’s silence, with tears on my cheeks as I think on so much…

Those who come back from war are simply not the same as they were when they enlisted.  They are not the same and they will never be the same.  They cannot be the same.  Ever.

Those who never made it back?  Ahhh…

And I think now on those who fought and returned, those who fought and did not, and those who continue to fight even now, in their dreams turned to nightmares, upon the soil of their home, or upon the soil of distant lands.

And so, like millions of others around the world, I shall be remembering

                                                                                               LEST WE FORGET…

4 Comments

Filed under Observations on Life and the Universe as I See it.

4 responses to “Remembrance Day.

  1. Pingback: Remembering them for their unimaginable sacrifice | Life with hiccups

  2. Great post. Thanks for writing about such an important day on the calendar!!

Leave a Reply

